70s rock outfit UMBILICUS has released their fourth and final single, “Umbilicus”, from their upcoming album “Path Of 1000 Suns”, which is due September 30th via Listenable Insanity Records. The new single showcases the band’s classic hard rock tendencies, as well as vocalist Brian Stephenson’s impressive vocal range.

“The story behind “Umbilicus” is pretty hilarious. When Paul, Vern, and I were jamming and writing at the Cannibal spot, we noticed this tiny little plant growing from the ceiling. Weeks went by and it got longer and longer and eventually, it reached the floor. So we wrote a new tune at the time and it was dubbed Umbilicus, named after the plant, also because I had read the word when I was reading “It” by Stephen King and it may have been in one of the Alien movies as well... It eventually became the band name, too! You can hear a lyric in there about “..from a ceiling in Florida”. It’s a pretty fun song, musically and lyrically.” Nordberg said, explaining the story behind the Umbilicus name.

“Path Of 1000 Suns” is the band’s first album and features 10 original compositions. Mixing and mastering for the album, as well as the album’s artwork was handled by guitarist Taylor Nordberg at Smoke & Mirrors Productions.

“Path Of 1000 Suns” track listing:

1. Hello Future

2. Umbilicus

3. Gates Of Neptune

4. I, Human

5. Stump Sponge

6. My Own Tide

7. Life On The Sun

8. The Call

9. Traveler

10. Gathering At The Kuiper Belt

Umbilicus is:

Brian Stephenson - Vocals

Paul Mazurkiewicz - Drums

Vernon Blake - Bass

Taylor Nordberg - Guitars

Pre-order “Path Of 1000 Suns” at

Connect with UMBILICUS:

No comments:

Post a Comment